top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureOonagh

Wonder


contemplating the beauty within

When the onslaught of tests are continuous and I hear complaining, worry and anxiety, I absorb these feelings. My own mind then spins this web of hopelessness, fear and anger. The time that I have had to myself over the course of this continuing health crisis has opened up a space where I am beginning to recognise more and more, how I may counteract these thoughts, change their direction and consequently uplift my spirit. It required no magic or external stimulus, just an openness to take in much needed spiritual food to nourish my mind to produce thoughts and the practical expression of them in more positive ways. The practice of doing a virtues pick daily is a part of this and although this has been a practice over several years, it has taken on a particular significance over this past year. Doing the right thing, choosing the right thing and thinking the right things are all a matter of choice. I marvel at the indescribable and extraordinary power we have as human beings to do a simple thing as change our thoughts and how we can overcome and harvest the gems hidden in our suffering to reach higher and higher levels of maturity. I have been so delighted with the recent version of the Disney movie Mulan. It demonstrated in a very sensitively moving and practical sense, that when we bring our lives into conformity with universal values and principles, we can overcome and exceed our own expectations. This is the mystery of life that amazes me and that I have just begun to learn about and witness in action. It may seem too abstract of a concept to grasp for many, but as people of the world concerned with improving our families, our communities and nations, when we continually think in ways that perpetuate anger, hostility and self-righteousness this is the manner in which we behave and we violate the fundamental universal principle of unity. When we replace these old patterns of behaviour with patterns that reflect our innate nobility, we naturally become happier, more hopeful and content. The power of the continued development of my mind and how susceptible it is to its environment, the potential power it possesses to direct my behaviour is what astounds me. It has no limits to its possibilities. It requires me to exert restrictions on its operation, to ensure that it is directed in ways that foster the well-being of others. I advance when I am tried by suffering and the whole world is advancing as a result of this crisis. There is so much beauty in the mysterious...

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Service

Modesty

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page