top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureOonagh

Perceptiveness

"The Word of God is the storehouse of all good, all power and all wisdom . . . It awakens within us that brilliant intuition which makes us independent of all tuition, and endows us with an all-embracing power of spiritual understanding."

Compilations, Bahá’í Scriptures, p. 439


it's a mess inside but there are gifts waiting to be found

As the wisdom that was shared in a recent workshop continues to settle in my heart, I have sought out more aspects of the presenter's work, wanting to learn more and revel in the delight of her insights. I love to read people's stories and how they give expression to their own spiritual awakening on the ongoing path of transformation. I have this feeling and need to move forward in my own journey. I feel a strong desire to lessen my attachment to the world in all the many forms that it is made manifest in the manner in which I choose to live my life. Some people embark upon this internal work with the help of a therapist or healer to get below the feelings and thoughts that obscures their true selves. The quotation above reminds me that the inherent nature of Divine Revelation is to effect a transformation on the outward and inward character of all. This morning I feel a strong desire to jump into the murky waters of change and succumb to the forces that help to chasten my heart. How to go about this is not entirely clear to me. What I do know is that it begins with my willingness to search out my imperfections and seek to diminish my proclivity to resort to their help each time something goes contrary to my wishes. This is the healing of painful wounds that I have covered and hidden for so long. Bringing them forward to the light of day will be messy and I may resist. But to rearrange my inner narrative and rid myself of all the false labels I have acquired, is freedom. It means that I have to release control over those things I have taken up to distract and divert my attention from dealing with these wounds. It is the recognition of my inherent worth and succumbing to sitting deep within the warmth of the truth that I am loved and have always been loved. I have had to widen my understanding of what love is and how it surrounds the entire world. Accepting this as truth is what I want to internalise. I am learning that love knows no limits and that when, with my puny mind, I perceive limitations it may be attributed to the constraints of my own mind. Love admits no restrictions of possessiveness, jealousy or anger. Its shafts of light may be made visible to me when I let go of the veils that cover my eyes and cloud my view. My heart feels tender and delicate this morning and as I read the virtue of perceptiveness it assures me that this is indeed the work for today. It is a page in this lifelong process of moving toward maturity not of body but of spirit.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Service

Modesty

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page