top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureOonagh

Initiative

"In the human body, every cell, every organ, every nerve has its part to play. When all do so the body is healthy, vigorous, radiant, ready for every call made upon it. No cell, however humble, lives apart from the body, whether in serving it or receiving from it."

The Universal House of Justice, Messages 1963 to 1986, p. 42


same person, new way of being

Living somewhere new comes with the challenges of exploring the terrain and finding out new things. I was out and about this morning on a mission to have my hair cut at yet another new establishment. I am still a little hesitant to explore on my own but with it only being myself at home right now there is no one to call on to accompany me in my adventures. It was a solo expedition. In my travels this morning I found a farmers market and a familiar friendly face in one of the vendors. It was a delightful discovery and I left with my vegetable bounty which was an unexpected haul. This was on the heels of receiving a very desirable haircut that has me feeling light and airy as I walk around in the autumn weather. I had much to smile about. As I had chosen initiative earlier this morning before heading out, I see how it affected my whole posture. I was busy finding new places with a welcome inquisitiveness quite uncharacteristic of me and was open to whatever I came across. I took a bold step in asking for what I wanted when I had made a purchase and it was not exactly what I wanted. Initiative armed me with enthusiasm and confidence. The fear and trepidation seemed a distant memory as I walked around. The weather even conspired along with me adding to the enjoyment of my exploration. I returned home to discover an email inviting me to interview for a position to join a community action team. I am delighted to be invited and eager to co-create with others as we collectively strive to root out all the harmful aspects of our existence that serve to divide us from one another. I have so many ideas and have to temper my enthusiasm with humility. It is easy for me to take a know-it-all stance and think that I know better than others but when we are talking about such hefty topics as racism and seeing the humanity in every human being, who am I to say I know what needs to be done? It is for me to have an attitude of learning, be curious about how others see the world and share my thoughts and ideas with them. This team is being convened to re-imagine a key social institution and its interactions with the wider community. This process will be ever advancing and re-inventing itself into the future. It will definitely be a channel for much of my creativity and I am grateful that I took the bold step to apply.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Service

Modesty

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page