top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureOonagh

Helpfulness

"It behooveth man to show forth that which will benefit mankind." ~Baha’u’llah, Epistle to the Son of the Wolf, p. 49


re-imaging how we help ourselves and others

As I read this virtues card, I had occasion to pause and remember how over the past few weeks I have been helped by friends, family and colleagues. Asking for help when I have required it has been so difficult. Why? Perhaps the old narratives of not being enough or worthy of support and assistance that still circle my thoughts when I compare myself to others and the system that defines success. I took the time to put this aside and reach out and ask for opinions and thoughts as to whether I would make a competent candidate for this position for which I desire to be considered. As I gathered up my courage, I was worried that they would perhaps feel that I would not be suitable and this I feared. I had the belief that I would make a good candidate but the system of competition and domination demands that our own belief is not sufficient, we must also be supported by others who will speak on our behalf as to who we are, what we are like to work with and whether this new position would be suitable according to what they know of our character. So I had to go through my own individual pre- selection process in requesting approval from others. It was a nerve-wrecking process and I was very cautious as I engaged with each person. Yet it was a process that served to strengthen my own conviction about my reasons for applying. I was able to formulate language around why I was tendering my application and what I hoped to achieve if I were offered the position. This was such a valuable exercise. I learned from those who agreed to stand as my references that they believed that I had the desired temperament, experience and exposure to be a good candidate. Yes, this was confirmed. Their help in this way made me feel as if I had already got the position. I have no control of what the powers who have been tasked to select for the position will choose to do and I am resolved not to worry about it. I know I can go in on a high with a sense of confidence. So then how do I pay this forward? This is what comes to me as another aspect of helpfulness. How do I take this new found feeling of confidence and worthiness and share it with others so that they too may look within themselves and see a person of worth. What the experience helped to realise is that we need help to see and recognise our own innate worth. It so happened that on the upcoming weekend, I was asked to facilitate a group of youth to learn about how to work with youth younger than themselves. It landed in my lap and although I agreed to do the work I had not thought of it in this context. This morning I set about getting all the logistics in place and although it will eat up a large portion of my weekend, I am excited to be able to work with these youth. Yes, I aim to make a difference in my professional career but also may make a difference in being of service to my community. Each is valuable and has an effect on the lives of others and on my own life.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Service

Modesty

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page