top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureOonagh

Grace

"No matter how strong the measure of Divine grace, unless supplemented by personal, sustained and intelligent effort it cannot become fully effective and be of any real and abiding advantage."~Shoghi Effendi, The Compilation of Compilations vol II, p. 7


what is individual and collective responsibility?


I am attending an Environment Forum this week and it has caused me to look at grace from a global perspective. I have been overwhelmed by the reporting of the inequities in the world that have been spotlighted by the effects of the pandemic and the world's response to it. I was saddened by the extent of the suffering of certain groups, though not surprised. I was excited as the conversations around the existence of the unfairness expanded and many sought to learn more about their reality and work toward solutions. In bringing together disparate groups of people for this emerging conversation, we see that we need to create a more equitable system. In doing this work, I need to transform the manner in which I interact in these spaces. Concerned people coming from all walks of life and levels of understanding working together requires a great deal of work. The change that we are so anxiously desiring needs our collective effort and our individual transformation. With out this realisation we witness very interesting and sometimes explosive gatherings that remain at the level of discussion and do not catapult the energy and motivation into action. Yes we are coming together to challenge a power dynamic that exists very imperfectly at the level of institutions but I, as an individual too need to change to help in creating the environment that we so long for in my own way. Our community too needs to play a part. In practicing grace, I treat others with dignity. This to me looks like making connection across all those divides that would otherwise allow prejudice to build and divide me from people in my neighbourhood. Yes I am drawn to those who have a similar ideas and thoughts that I do, but what of those that do not? Should I not diversify my friendship base along the lines that often separate us because this is where unity may be sustainably built? I need to learn to forgive everyone. This is so hard and I have never really thought about it in these terms before. I often focus on being kind to everyone but I know I need to dig deep and consider the level of forgiveness that ought to be in my emotional tool box. I know my mind will tussle with this one and throw up many exceptions, caveats and excuses but in bringing about a new way of being requires this radical approach. The very connections that need to be re-imagined so that their beauty becomes the foundation for the world we want to see. This is what grace does to our lives, it fortifies a sustainable existence.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Service

Modesty

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page