top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureOonagh

Generosity

“We must be like the fountain or spring that is continually emptying itself of all that it has and is continually being refilled from an invisible source. To be continually giving out for the good of our fellows undeterred by fear of poverty and reliant on the unfailing bounty of the Source of all wealth and all good–this is the secret of right living.” ~ Shoghi Effendi


abundance is all around us...

I searched my heart this morning looking for that specific situation that would be most impacted by an infusion of practicing generosity today. In looking for just one I came up with many instances and prospective interactions that would benefit. What popped to the forefront was a virtues circle I am hosting later this morning. Some of the participants will be joining the group for the first time and this will be their first introduction to the use of the virtue for personal development. What could I say or give the participants so that they may advance in their understanding of the necessity for us to acquire these qualities in greater and greater degrees so that we may be of some real benefit to the world around us? I know this is the question I would like all of the participants to ponder as we select a virtue for today. This is the underlying question to my own selection of a virtue each day. It enables me to bring concrete action to the prayers I offer each day. I have cause to view the world through another frame and thus behave in a manner that honours who I am and who others are as human beings. It helps me to consider my thoughts and if they tend toward a direction that will not serve me, I have an opportunity to alter them. I do not always remember this and often get swept up in the wave of emotions but when I have an opportunity to reflect on my day, the virtue of the day offers an alternative way in which I may view the day's happenings. I know that as we transform as human beings we need help along the way and the virtues are one tool that may be of some help. It is in this way I may share what it is I have learned from this practice and offer it to others who may be looking for a tool. I know that reflecting as a group and listening to how the virtue lands in another's heart is fascinating because this offers us an opportunity to see through someone else's eyes and learn from their insights. Being open to hear what others are feeling and receptive to their lessons as guides for myself is also a practice of being generous. I am beginning to understand more how this giving and being open to receive is where abundance lives. Walking through this world with the joy that results from giving fully and freely, and open to receive the many bounties on offer, make for a life blessed with riches.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Service

Modesty

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page