top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureOonagh

Detachment

When thou wilt purify and clarify thy spiritual nostrils from every worldly moisture, then thou wilt inhale the holy fragrances diffusing from the merciful gardens of these worlds. ‘Abdu’l-Bahá, Bahá’í World Faith, p. 392


A deep breath of peace and patience

Today in Canada is National Truth and Reconciliation day. For me this is a day to celebrate the bounties and wonders that our aboriginal ancestors, brothers and sisters have brought and continue to bring to this world. It is taking a pause to consider the harmful effects of colonialism and recognise that humankind is one thread woven through the pattern of life. The impact of colonialism has been incessant competition between humans leaving us no room to cultivate the intimacy and love that building community requires. We are adrift in a sea of lovelessness seeking to make land and ground our anxiety and fears. Instead we are consumed by a mindset of otherness. Detachment awakens me to the nature of this life draining sea sucking the life and love from me. I am on a mission to understand what it means to consider ourselves as one people. How this transformation of ourselves requires me to, as a writer I admire states, "reach out past the veil of otherness". One of the necessary tools to move this process forward is to detach from other's choices. How is this to be achieved? I think of when someone says something negative about me or to me has the effect of upending my entire equilibrium, how I let it control my interactions with that person. My ancestors paved the way for me to walk this life in the manner that I do so today. How may my thoughts and behaviour acknowledge the sacrifices they have made for me. Some sacrificed with their lives and now it is for me to be the best I can be in honour of their memory. Some one's attitude is negligible compared to what others have endured. What may be said or done does not define who and what I am. They do not know my secret that I was created noble, and so were they! Essentially, whatever happens or does not happen is only ever about how I chose to respond. If someone is irritated, upset or angry with me and strong emotions well up inside me, then it is for me to deal with those emotions. With my newfound practice to process my emotions I need to ask - what am I afraid of?; what is causing me pain? Is there joy I am suppressing? Detachment is an essential element of the transformation process, it acts as a shield from my intense feelings and a voice of reason to let me know that it is no use wasting time on something I cannot change. Energy may instead be better utilised in cultivating more of those spiritual qualities that I do want to see in the world. Qualities my ancestors encourage me to develop as they look on.

4 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Service

Modesty

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page