top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureOonagh

Detachment


I am protecting myself.

I have the tendency to hold the challenges, difficulties, concerns of my friends and family very closely, experiencing them on a very deep level. I want to rescue, counsel, save them from what I see is an inevitable negative outcome. Detachment reminds me that my job is to love and listen in these precious moments, without loosing myself. Their choices are their own, and their spiritual lessons are not mine to do. I often share with friends regarding parenting, that I am responsible for how I parent and not the way my boys take my parenting. I love the image of wearing detachment like a cloak of armour that protects me from irritations. Tolbert McCarrol states, " receive each irritation as if you had only fifteen minutes to live." What a beautiful lens to adopt!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Service

Modesty

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page