top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureOonagh

Compassion


we are never alone

Over the course of this year I have increased my friendship base exponentially. I basically put myself out into the cyber world and physically in my community during those brief moments when restrictions eased. Yesterday, one of these precious heart's had her husband pass on. She and her family have been on my mind as I privately offered prayers for the departed. Despite all of the email traffic and phone calls that I know she will be receiving, I sent a short email enclosing a prayer I have found most comforting when friends have transitioned out of this world. There are really no words I can offer to bring solace to her heart, but I know that divinely revealed prayers express sentiments so poignantly. Also on my mind this morning, is another dear soul who has had some health problems and is stowing away, keeping her virtual and physical distance. This is hard for her friends but this is what she needs in order to come back to herself. I know this feeling of wanting to cocoon and shut the world out. I have done it periodically and although I have learned that it does not serve my healing, I know that what this precious heart needs right now is for me to honour, respect, accept her choices and to value her as a human being by heeding her decision. There are those in our circle who are confused by this, wanting to draw her out and I understand their strong desire to ease her distress in this way. As I read this card and see that compassion includes refraining from judgements and seeking instead to understand, I am able to appreciate my friends' choices, who are longing for that special connection once more. Our world has turned upside down with this health crisis and it is demanding that we do things we once did with a new and improved sense of awareness that intuitively, we all have the capacity to access. We may explore what it means to think about the wellbeing of others? What may we do for others? I am learning that in wanting to be of help, I need to cleanse my approach from the stain of paternalism. To me this means being open to the fact that when people connect with their own inner wisdom they know what to do and my job is only to listen deeply to their concerns so that this connection may be made. To provide an open heart to receive their words, hold their opinions as relevant to them and not offer my suggestions and advice, no matter how relevant I may think it may be. It is putting aside my concerns and putting my entire focus on another delicate heart.This is where compassion aids me most. This I believe is what these two dear souls need from me and when the time is right for them, I will be there.

5 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Service

Modesty

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page