top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureOonagh

Certitude


a light that guides the way

I have been thinking about how to extend the conversation among my circle of influence about spirituality. There is a yearning in the human heart for this knowledge that we all harbour and it is often expressed in a desire for material advancement. It is disguised and suppressed by our efforts to satisfy this longing but it never goes away. I believe it actually strengthens in its intensity and insistence as we grow older. In my own experience, I have seen that when I disobey spiritual laws or do not heed their guidance, I am off down the wrong path. I then attract self inflicted hardship in addition to other tests and have to exert even more effort to recalibrate myself. Even though mistakes are those precious life lessons, on reflection I see so many that may have been easily avoided. However it is this winding and twisted path that has been necessary to strengthen the muscle of certitude. I used to believe that certitude was having confidence, absolutely knowing for sure the path forward. I continue to learn that certitude exists even when I do not know the direction in which to head or what to say. It is that feeling deep within me that knows that everything will be well. I have found this precious place of comfort even when I have dissolved into tears. It is traveling along a previously untraveled path in the darkness and continuing to advance. It feels like falling whilst at the same time experiencing being held. What do I have to show for my efforts? No material things, just a face that genuinely smiles easily, a loving, supportive family and some really wonderful people I have the privilege to call friends. It is these friends and my family with whom I long to speak about this importance of cultivating a life based on attaining spiritual qualities and how the benefits that flow are hidden in plain sight. I am learning how to do this and mostly I know I need to let go of what the response may be and let my life be the evidence.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Service

Modesty

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page