top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureOonagh

Beauty


feeding my soul

The first night experience in a new home with its new sounds, unfamiliar creaks and rattles as the heating/cooling system does its thing, makes for a restless and interrupted sleep. We spent a great deal of time yesterday making the first night a reality. Living among boxes, my frustration at not having an instant home for everything as it arrived, coupled with the decision fatigue, meant that I was dog tired on going to bed. Earlier we had feasted on take out hotdogs from the renowned ice-cream shop next door. Consequently, my stomach is at war with the rest of my body as it struggles to process whilst simultaneously rejecting my dinner choice. As my stomach churns uncomfortably this morning, I sit in our new living room on a rocking chair staring at the mature trees that surround our new home and watching my neighbours drink their morning beverages on their lawn, in deck chairs in the cool sunshine of a Saturday morning. I see squirrels busy gathering and frolicking in the trees, the orange and red hues of the sun rise and the gentle sway of the tree leaves in the breeze. A cat saunters past, confident and assured with its pace. All this was before me as I drew the card of beauty. Despite all that needs to be done and the frustration I feel at being a less than perfect mover and a hopeless interior decorator I realised I am surrounded by nature's beauty that serves to uplift my spirits and take me away from all the anxiety and frustration.


I wrote the above on Saturday (29 May 2021) morning and then proceeded to escape from it all. I share it here as a record of the day.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Service

Modesty

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page